Timubo Cave: Camotes’ Gem Underground

Several caves in San Francisco await tourists to visit. The one we visited was an underground cave called Timubo. Thinking of caves, most people would imagine the foot of a mountain with wide crevices that open like huge mouths. I was actually thinking that way when we were driving to Timubo from Lake Danao.

Instead, we stopped in the middle of rocky farmland where the hills are like half a kilometer away. I thought we would be walking through the dry farmland, and head to the foot of the hills. But, we were just right there. There’s a small hole just beside the registration table, and steep stairs go down up to 70 meters.

The attendant switched the power on to light the cave. We did not have any guide, as there is just one entrance and exit and the stairs going down are well-paved and stable, with railings that one can hold to since, the the stairs could be slippery as always wet. From being exposed to the light above ground, our eyes needed to adjust, and we could not see anything except rocks.

My sister was a bit afraid, as she was ahead of me. So we waited for the other group to go ahead of us. We went down, amused with the stalactites and stalagmites in the chambers of the cave. It was 70 meter descent, very short and devoid of adventure. The only thing you have to fight here is your fear for closed space and darkness.There’s no eerie bat noise to scare you further.

When we got to the bottom, there’s a crystal clear underground spring water. It’s fresh and cold. A small hole, fit for one person to pass through, serves as the doorway to the main chamber of Timubo cave. The hole is half sunk in water that is waist deep. I peeked through the hole and saw the chamber to be bigger. I could hear then the group ahead of us to be so amazed with what they so.

I pulled my shorts off, and dunk in the water and passed through the hole. Behold, my eyes were aghast to what nature has blessed Timubo cave. A lagoon of clear, fresh and cold water. The lagoon’s bed is of white limestone, that with the ample lighting inside, it paints a dull blue sky. That was blue lagoon to me. Boy, I wanted to try the waters and swim in the lagoon from wall to wall.

The cold spring water inside Timubo was reall inviting. It is vast from wall to wall, and the chambers go farther. The pool of water is large enough to take long swim strides. It appears deep in its calmness, in the middle it could be more than 10 feet. The water reflects the light that brightens the chambers even more.

I could not bathe though, as my sister was waiting for me outside, and that I was in my underwear. I was conscious that she might get scared being alone where I left here. Nevertheless, Timubo cave is one of Camotes’ a gem underground. On our way to San Francisco Baywalk, our driver dodged that if I liked Timubo, I should also see Bukilat Cave and then I could compare.

According to the folks in the area, Timubo was disovered in their search for a source of water. The ground above must have caved in and so they discovered that the cave is rich source of fresh water. If this is the keepers of the cave should advise tourists to preserve the pristine beauty of the cave and its waters.

I was asked by our driver, how much I liked Timubo. I could only reply with a big smile saying it was really awesome. He informed me that I would like Bukilat cave even more, which is also found in San Francisco. However, Bukilat cave has a lagoon with a little salty water coming from the sea, but the openning in its ceiling gives it a grander scenery to behold. Next time around, when I visit Camotes, this will be in my travel itinerary.

Leave a Reply

